BOOKS I’VE READ

The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler Olsen was recommended on a podcast that I listen to, but it was too dark for me to enjoy. The characters were not likeable, nor were they fully realized. I did appreciate the non-American setting of Denmark.

 

Codex by Lev Grossman was wonderfully absorbing to read, but had quite a disappointing conclusion.

Take the Stairs by Rory Vaden seemed like an okay book, but I think I’m not in a season of life to appreciate it. Subtitle: 7 steps to improve your self-discipline and your life

 

T.V. SHOWS WORTH WATCHING

Watching the final season of Flashpoint is bittersweet; I will miss it.

I have been enjoying Nathan Lane on The Good Wife, and Roy Romano on Parenthood.

 

MOVIES I’ve seen (in or out of the theatre)

We saw Lincoln with my parents, and it was a good choice. I have no idea how accurate it is, but it is good storytelling. It is quiet for a film about the abolitionist movement and the civil war. Very political, of course, and as a Canadian I was even more confused about their system afterward than I’d been going in.

 

IN MY EARS

On the swing end, I’ve been enjoying Lu Watters as well as Chris Barber’s Jazz Band.

Tangerine Kitty’s Dumb Ways to Die is a persistent earworm!

The best find of November was Over the Rhine’s Christmas album, entitled Snow Angel. It is the perfect Christmas music for me.

 

IN THE KITCHEN

Pies have been produced in my kitchen. Not by ME, of course! Mr. Swivels convinced his mom to hand over the cherished recipe, and since then he’s made three pumpkin pies and a batch of pumpkin tarts.

I think the dish I made most often in November was smashed potatoes.

 

5 random things about November

1. My sister-in-law and her family returned home from Asia and will be living in Manitoba for eight or nine months. We helped my FIL & MIL prepare their house and move furniture, boxes, and bins.

2. My son turned 23. This is mind-boggling.

3. Hot Pot is fun! Hot Pot with cheerful friends is great! (This gang has previously swept us along for Dim Sum and Korean BBQ, and bubble tea, of course.)

4.  Dance workshops are always better in theory than in practice. NTS: train for the next workshop weekend

5.  The X-mini MAX II Capsule Speakers we ordered arrived from Singapore in less than 5 business days.  They’re terrific.

 

November’s GOOD RIDDANCE:

Mustaches

 

What I’m looking forward to in December:

The warmth of Mexico!

 

