I was so happy to open the second of Mary Doria Russell’s novels, Children of God, and find Emilio Sandoz there!  He was the main character in her first novel, The Sparrow, and I’d come to care about him.  Mary grabbed me and reeled me in right from the start of Children of God:

Sweating and nauseated, Father Emilio Sandoz sat on the edge of his bed with his head in what was left of his hands.
Many things had turned out to be more difficult than he’d expected.  Losing his mind, for example.  Or dying.  How can I still be alive? he wondered, not so much with philosophical curiosity as with profound irritation at the physical stamina and sheer bad luck that had conspired to keep him breathing, when all he’d wanted was death.  “Something’s got to go,” he whispered, alone in the night.  “My sanity or my soul…”

 

 

 

