Last night we went to visit some friends, and we played table games.  I didn’t win any of them, so y’all can quit bugging me about the winning streak.

 

They have such a nice house.  It balances the feeling of peaceful beauty with the reality of daily life – not an easy task.  Lots of houses that have nice interior design look like no one lives in them, and no one ever could without ruining the decor.  And a lot of houses look lived in but can get so jumbled that it is hard to feel at peace or feel like you’re living your daily life in some amount of aesthetic beauty.  This home has the magic balance for me.

This sentiment may be somewhat influenced by my love for character houses, but then again I’ve been in a lot of other character houses whose vibe didn’t qualify!

 

I really enjoy seeing that dad with his kids.  He is such a natural father.
We have many friends who are great dads, but there’s something different about this guy.  He is not over-enthusiastic or syrupy; he’s not doing the dad-thing grudgingly (and heaven knows that I often do the mother-thing grudgingly!); he doesn’t avoid the kids and let their mom handle most of it.
He just parents in a matter-of-fact and loving way, almost like a mom, if I can say that without insulting his masculinity.  It isn’t intended as an insult – it’s just seems that his role as a father is an integral part of who he is, not something more to do at the end of the day.
It makes my heart glad.

